disclaimer As a resale aggregator, prices may be higher than face value.
Championship League

Championship League Tickets

The English Championship League is the second tier of professional football in England, nestled just below the lofty Premier League. The league comprises 24 teams that engage in a gruelling 46-game season, facing each other twice (one home game and one away). The Championship is known for its fiercely competitive nature, which often defies prediction as teams fight tooth and nail to earn promotion or escape the horror of relegation.

The Championship League is an exciting and highly competitive league that attracts a large and passionate fanbase. So compare Championship League tickets by using our table below.

Compare Championship League Ticket Prices

Choose Your Championship League Team

Significance of the Championship League

The English Championship League's fierce and competitive atmosphere pulls in sizable crowds and generates substantial income through ticket sales, broadcasting rights, and sponsorships. The league also plays a pivotal role in nurturing young talent, giving them a chance to shine and lure top-flight clubs with their skills. Moreover, many renowned and victorious clubs call the Championship home, which enhances the league's significance and prominence in the realm of English football.

Championship League History

Established in 2004, the English Championship League took over from the Football League First Division as England's second professional football tier. However, the league's roots can be traced back to the creation of the Football League in 1888, which gradually grew into a three-tier system following the establishment of the Third Division in 1920. 

The First Division remained the highest tier until the Premier League was inaugurated in 1992. This led to the second tier being renamed the ‘Football League First Division’ before eventually being rebranded as the English Championship.

Who plays in the Championship League?

The English Championship features 24 teams, featuring the top 22 clubs from the previous season, as well as two teams promoted from the third tier, known as League One. Teams from across England participate in the Championship, with historic and accomplished clubs like Newcastle United, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Sunderland, West Bromwich Albion, and Leicester City among those who have claimed multiple titles over the years.

Who gets promoted to the Premier League?

The Premier League promotion system allows the top two teams in the English Championship League to be automatically promoted to the Premier League at the end of the season, while the third to sixth-placed teams compete in a playoff tournament to determine the final team to be promoted to the top-flight league.

How many teams get relegated from the Championship League?

At the end of each season, the bottom three teams in the English Championship are relegated to the third tier of English football, League One.

The excitement of the promotion and relegation system makes it a fun spectacle to watch, and many fans make sure they secure themselves Championship League tickets well in advance.